Ramble Wednesday

“Give yourself a gift of five minutes of contemplation in awe of everything you see around you. Go outside and turn your attention to the many miracles around you. This five-minute-a-day regimen of appreciation and gratitude will help you to focus your life in awe.” -Wayne Dyer

I can’t believe we are already at the end of November. It’s been a wet and rainy week here in Western Washington State. Last summer, I decided to find time each week to be outside and in nature. It was pretty easy because the weather in the summer of 2017 was awesome. It became a little trickier in the fall but still manageable. However, with the days getting shorter, I have to be more intentional in finding my outdoor time.

What I’ve noticed over the last six months is that I don’t feel as depressed or frustrated with our grey skies or rainy days. I feel more grateful for the days that are rain-free or when we get a glimpse of sunshine.

In my work as a school counselor, I explain to kids all the time that their mindset matters and it really is true. If I look at the winter months as terrible, long, and never ending then my mood will decrease and it will feel like forever until summer comes again.

Now that there is more snow happening in the mountains, I’m going to share a few awesome entry-level snowshoeing hikes. This is a great way to get outside during the winter months.

Wenatchee Crest

https://cascadiaramblings.com/2016/02/10/wenatchee-crest-snowshoe/

20160101-IMG_20160101_134529

Paradise Visitor Center at Mount RainierĀ 

https://cascadiaramblings.com/2015/03/11/paradise-snowshoe/

snowshoe (1 of 1)

Leave a comment